Nehru Trophy Boat Race

A large number of tourists are attracted by the boat race conducted at the Punnamada backwaters on the second Saturday of August every year. This trophy named as NEHRU TROPHY was donated by the late Prime Minister of India Jawaharlal Nehru to the winners of the first boat race conducted in 1952 in honour of Panditji who visited Alappuzha. The major attraction of the boat race is the competition of snake boats or chundanvallams. For the Nehru Trophy Boat Race all the 18 snake boats of the state will participate.

Nehru Trophy Boat Race Related Links