Civil Service in India - IAS, IPS and Eligibiliy

The Indian Civil Service has great respect and responsibilities. Corporate jobs may offer more perks, but an entry to Civil Service as officers is considered prestigious by many Indian youngsters. Indian Civil Services are held by the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC). Major share of top posts in Civil Service are bagged by highly qualified people from various streams. This shows that Indian Administrative Service (IAS) is still an Indian youngster's dream job.

Entry into the IAS, IPS and the Central Services, Group A and Group B is through the All India Combined Competitive Examination for the Civil Services conducted by the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC).

One has to put a lot of time and energy to come out successful in Civil Service Examination. The competition is so high that the interested candidates sometimes will have to take the Exam repeatedly to become successful.

There are many services one can opt if successful in the examination. They are:

Indian Administrative Service (IAS)

Indian Foreign Service

Indian Police Service (IPS)

Group A

Indian P & T Accounts & Finance Service

Indian Audit and Accounts Service

Indian Customs and Central Excise Service

Indian Defense Accounts Service

Indian Revenue Service

Indian Ordnance Factories Service (Assistant Works Manager, non-technical)

Indian Postal Service

Indian Civil Accounts Service

Indian Railway Traffic Service

Indian Railway Accounts Service

Indian Railway Personnel Service

Posts of Assistant Security Officer in Railway Protection Force (RPF)

Indian Defense Estates Service

Indian Information Service (Junior Grade)

Group - B

Railway Board

Secretariat Service (Section Officer's Grade)

Armed Forces

Headquarters Civil Service (Section Officer's Grade)

Customs Appraisers' Service

Delhi , Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Civil Service and Police Service

Pondicherry Civil Service

Indian Administrative

Service (IAS) :

The post of an IAS officer carries a lot of responsibility. At the top of the hierarchy of IAS officers is the Cabinet Secretary followed by Secretary/ Additional Secretary, Joint Secretary, Director, Under Secretary and then the Junior Scale Officers. These posts are filled according to seniority.

The Indian Police

Service (IPS) :

The Indian Police Service is mainly public safety and security. The Indian Police Service is divided into various departments like the Crime Branch, the Criminal Investigation Department, Home Guards and the Traffic Bureau.

The area of functioning for the IPS can be broadly divided into: maintenance of law and order, crime prevention and detection, traffic control and accident prevention and management.

Eligibility for the Civil Services Preliminary Examination:

The minimum age for appearing for the Civil Service Preliminary examination is 21 years and the upper age limit is 30 years. The minimum qualification is graduation in any discipline from a recognised Indian University or an equivalent qualification. There is a relaxation for SC/ST candidates on the number of attempts, if they are otherwise eligible.

For entry to Civil Services, there is a multi-step examination process. The entire selection process takes the entire calendar year.